How to Use the WPX Staging Area

If you would like a test version of your website to fine tune themes/templates, plugins, layouts etc, you can do exactly that with WPX’s Staging Area.

The WPX Staging Area allows you to merge your Staging site with your Live site. 

This means that any new blog comments or Post/Page changes on the Live Site, since the Staging version was created, will be kept and only the other changes made on the Staging version are added to the Live site (more details below).

Here is a video walkthrough (we will update this video for our new post-August 2020 design look shortly but all of the buttons and steps are basically in the same place):

IMPORTANT: 1 staging area deployment DOES take up 1 website slot in your WPX hosting account.

For example: If you are on a Business plan, you will have 5 website slots. If you want to create a staging version of 2 existing websites, you will need 4 website slots; 2 website slots for the staging areas, and 2 for the existing parent websites.

PLEASE ALSO NOTE:

1. There is a 1 Gb database limitation for Staging sites; if your website’s database exceeds 1 Gb, you will NOT be able to create a staging version, sorry.

2. There is a 5 Gb files size limitation for the Staging sites, if your website’s files exceed 5 Gb in total, you will NOT be able to create a staging version.

3. The staging area does not play nice with WP Multisite installations.

Here is a 10-step guide on using the WPX Staging feature:

Step 1

Log in to your WPX account, go to the Websites/SSL (1) tab in your hosting dashboard and select Create Staging (2);

Step 2

A pop-up menu will appear; select your desired website (3) and then click on Deploy Staging Instance (4):

Step 3

Your new staging site can take up to 1 minute to be created because a complete copy is made of your live site. 

Before the confirmation window you will see the warning message with the Staging limitations described before Step 1 on the article.

NOTE: If you are NOT using WPX Hosting’s Nameservers (you probably are), please note that to access your new staging instance, you need to have an A Record pointed to the staging subdomain (e.g. staging.YOURDOMAIN.com), or the nameserver of the parent domain to be pointed to our server.

Step 5

To login you can use the “Login” button next to the staging or use the default wp-admin url : staging.yourdomainame.com/wp-admin

With your account settings ready, follow the instructions in the video below to connect your WPX Email account with yNOTE: If you have changed your WP admin login page to a different URL page, please use that to access your new Staging Area (e.g. staging.YOURDOMAIN.com/my-unique-login-page)

Step 7 You’re now free to make the changes you want on your staging site. You will notice that the URL of your WordPress site reads as: staging.YOURDOMAIN.com/wp-admin/, as seen in the screenshot below:

Step 8

Once you are happy with your changes, your next step is to merge the two versions (Staging and Live) together. Return to the Your Websites section of your hosting dashboard and click on the Merge to Live button;

Step 9

Merging your Staging version with the Live version will automatically keep any new blog content (including comments and posts) on the Live site however, merging will add any other changes from the Staging version to the Live site (new plugins, theme/templates, or changes to existing plugins).

NOTE: If Posts or Pages are edited on the Staging version, these will replace the Live version Posts/Pages during the merging.

Important: New plugins or theme/templates added to the Staging site prior to merging will now require plugin/theme activation on the relevant WP Admin page on the Live Site.

Step 10

Before merging is complete, you will be asked for your merging preferences. 

Tick the boxes if you would like to make a user backup of the Live site (highly recommended) before Merging and/or delete this staging instance after merging. 

When ready, click on Continue with Merging:

Your live website has now been updated.

An information window will appear after site merging has finished. Don’t forget to check your Backup Manager for your pre-merged site version, if you need it.

VERY IMPORTANT: In order to see the updates and changes on your live website, you must clear your browser cache and refresh the page. You can do this by pressing CTRL+F5 (possibly several times), or click on the Reload Current Page button on your URL bar.

If you get stuck with anything discussed on this page, please contact WPX Support via live chat (use the bottom right hand widget!) and we will usually respond and help within 30 seconds.