If you would like a test version of your website to fine-tune themes/templates, plugins, layouts, etc, you can do exactly that with WPX’s Staging Area. If you don’t want to make changes on your Live site that your visitors will see or even break your website while developing – the WPX Staging is the right feature for you.
You can create an exact copy of your live website and develop it without breaking or disrupting the functionality of your Live website. The WPX Staging area allows you to merge your Staging site with your Live site. This means that any new blog comments or Post/Page changes on the Live Site, since the Staging version was created, will be kept and only the other changes made on the Staging version are added to the Live site.
Another benefit of the staging website is that you can use it for re-developing your website from different CMS to WordPress without the need to take down your live website.
The Staging website relies on subdomains, meaning that you don’t need to do anything too technical to load your website and develop it. You can create it and load it in your browser like any other subdomain, however, it won’t be indexed.
What are the limitations of creating a Staging copy?
You can find more articles related to our Staging Area here:
- What are the limitations of creating a Staging copy?
- How can I create a Staging copy of my site?
- How can I merge my Staging site with the Live site?
- Can I replace the Live site with the Staging?
- How can I restore my Live site after merging it with the Staging site?
- How can I log in to my Staging site?
- Is my Staging site cached and/or indexed?
If you have any other questions on the topic, don’t hesitate to contact the WPX Support Team via live chat (use the bottom right-hand widget) and they will respond and help within 30 seconds or less.